CRDC Chair Richard Haire

CRDC welcomes Director appointments

You are here

October 6, 2020

The Cotton Research and Development Corporation (CRDC) has welcomed the appointment of six directors to the CRDC Board by the Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management, the Hon. David Littleproud MP.

Led by incumbent Chair Mr Richard Haire and CRDC’s Executive Director Dr Ian Taylor, the CRDC Board will comprise former directors Les Copeland and Rosemary Richards, who have been returned for a second term on the CRDC Board, and new directors Ross Burnett, Dr Gary Fitt, Dr Danielle Kennedy and Peta Slack-Smith.

Mr Haire welcomed the directors, who come from a diverse range of backgrounds across the cotton, science, technology and corporate affairs sectors.

“CRDC drives investment, innovation and impact in the Australian cotton industry through world-leading research, development and extension,” Mr Haire said.

“Our role in working with cotton growers and the wider industry to set and invest in research priorities is critical – ensuring we have the innovation and transformative technologies to drive the industry forward.

“One of the great strengths of the CRDC Board has long been its diversity, with directors each bringing a range of skills to the table. Today’s announcement is no exception, with expertise in cotton growing and cotton research, commercial operations, technology and innovation, and communication.

“I welcome Les and Rosemary back to the board, and Ross, Gary, Danielle and Peta to the board for the first time.

“I look forward to working with the directors over the coming years to ensure CRDC continues to achieve strong outcomes on behalf of growers, the Government and the wider industry,” he said.

Mr Haire also paid tribute to CRDC’s outgoing board, whose term finished on 30 September.

“I thank outgoing Deputy Chair Kathryn Adams, and directors Liz Alexander, Greg Kauter and Jeremy Burden for their invaluable contribution to CRDC and the wider cotton industry,” Mr Haire said.