You are here

CRDC and the Rural Women's Award (10 September 2015)

The annual RIRDC Rural Women's Award dinner was held in Canberra last night, with South Australian woman, Sarah Powell named as the 2015 Rural Woman of the Year for her work in addressing the decline in rural communitities through sport; and Tasmanian hazelnut grower, Carol Bracken, runner up.

CRDC was once again proud to support the Rural Women's Award, hosting a table at the dinner for up and coming cotton industry leaders. CRDC's Di Purcell was joined at the dinner by Cotton Australia's Brooke Summers - a recent graduate of the Australian Rural Leadership Program, supported by CRDC and Cotton Australia. Wincott was represented by two members of its executive: Lauryn Riordan (one of the 2014 Future Cotton Leaders, also supported by CRDC and Cotton Australia), and Belinda Mulcahy. Four students from the CRDC funded Horizon scholarship program also attended as CRDC's guests: Kirsty McCormack, Jessica Kirkpatrick, Camilla a'Beckett and Emily Miller.

Horizon scholar Jessica Kirkpatrick said the event was "motivating and inspiring- a great celebration of women in agriculture". 

Pictured: CRDC's Di Purcell (second from left), with Horizon scholars Emily Miller, Kirsty McCormack, Jessica Kirkpatrick and Camilla a'Beckett.